The National Register

of Historic Places -

Stewartstown Railroad




The National Register of Historic Places is the Nation's list of cultural resources worthy

of preservation. The program was authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act

of 1966 and is overseen by the National Park Service. In Pennsylvania, the program is

administered by the Bureau for Historic Preservation of the Pennsylvania Historical and

Museum Commission.


For more information, visit


In 1997, all of the major buildings and bridges located on the Stewartstown Railroad

were listed on the National Register along with other historical railroad resources in

York County. The Stewartstown Railroad property itself was also deemed eligible for

listing at that time and efforts are currently underway to complete that nomination.



Stewartstown Railroad station constructed in 1914 and

still the operating headquarters of the railroad today.

(Photo by Herbert H. Harwood, Jr.)





Stewartstown Railroad enginehouse constructed circa 1914. This

may well be the last single stall wooden enginehouse in Pennsylvania

to still be used for its original intended purpose.

(Photo by Jim Shaw)




The "Iron Bridge"

This bridge is a fascinating combination of second hand iron and steel

bridge parts supported by abutments of both fieldstone and concrete

construction and even contains the remains of the original wooden

trestle buried in the earthen fill approaches.

(Photo by Eric J. Bickleman)




Ridge Road bridge

(Photo by Herbert H. Harwood, Jr.)




Deer Creek bridge

(Photo by Eric J. Bickleman)




Turnpike Station was constructed in 1923 and occupied by a station

agent until 1969. This location, now a part of Shrewsbury Borough, was

originally known as Hungerford and was where the York-Baltimore

Turnpike crossed the railroad, hence the name Turnpike Station.

(Photo by Deane Mellander)




Stone Arch Road bridge

(Photo by Herbert H. Harwood, Jr.)